Jason Gray To Release Acoustic Sessions EP

Following the positive reception of his acoustic video series this year, Centricity Music artist Jason Gray will release the project as a digital EP September 8.

The Acoustic Sessions EP consists of audio tracks from the acoustic performance videos Gray recorded this year, viewable on his Youtube page. The set list includes covers of La La Land’s Oscar-winning “City of Stars,” and Imagine Dragons’ “Believer,” plus Gray’s own “Thank You For Everything” and “I Will Rise Again,” which features an introduction of Prince’s iconic “Thieves In The Temple.”

All are acoustic renditions, with the accompaniment ranging from homemade percussion to a hammer dulcimer. Gray describes the inspiration behind this creative endeavor:

theacousticsessions“For the better part of two years I’ve been on the road with my friend and music-making wonder Spencer Ford,” Gray says, mentioning one of his backup musicians on the project. “I’ve loved our stripped-down arrangements of my songs and have wanted to capture that on a project for a while.”

He goes on to discuss the unique musicality included in the recordings: “Bringing in some Prince for ‘Rise’ was a happy discovery that in my mind will forever be part of the song now. And Spencer’s hammer dulcimer playing on ‘Thank You’ is one of my favorite musical moments each performance night. I’m glad we got to capture these things for people who might not otherwise get out to a show.”

The acoustic EP’s release precedes Gray’s joining The Afters for the Live On Forever Tour, which begins mid-September. He’ll finish the year headlining his Christmas tour featuring guests Marc Martel and Hannah Kerr, the dates of which will be announced in September.

Other Posts We Recommend: