Close this search box.

Former FFH Member Jonathan Firey Pays Tribute To The California Central Coast With ‘Taste Of The Valley’


Former member of popular CCM band FFH, singer/songwriter and now solo guitarist Jonathan Firey, has released his first acoustic instrumental album titled, Taste of the Valley, featuring a collection of nine original songs inspired by the iconic Santa Ynez Valley, a new place he and his family call home. The album is available across all digital platforms starting today.

Produced, performed and written by Firey, the Oklahoman native creates musical stylings that are complex, soulful and textured, layering together a sound that can be characterized across multiple genres. Sometimes described as BlueGrass, Folk or Country, Firey’s music is a blend of styles inspired by his musical greats like James Taylor, Dan Fogelberg and Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin.

“As a touring musician for the last 20 years I have been fortunate to see many of the beautiful places around the world,” says Firey. “I never dreamed I would someday get to live in one of them. I knew early on after relocating my family to  the Santa Ynez Valley in CA that something was different and special about this amazing place and musical inspiration hit within days of moving here. So much music has been born over the last few years and Taste of the Valley is a collection of some of my favorite compositions that this valley has given me.”

With tracks named after mesmerizing landmarks throughout the Valley from “San Marcos Pass”, “Cachuma Sunrise” to “Fig”; all locations are where Firey has had memorable experiences and moments that have helped him feel connected to the new town that he calls home.

Firey moved to Santa Ynez in 2016, where he currently serves as a Music Minister at Valley Christian Fellowship, after spending nearly 12 years in the “music capital of the world,” Nashville, Tenn. Firey’s career consisted of performing in FFH for over a decade, garnering 11 No. 1 hits on the CCM chart, over two million albums sold, composing a catalog of over 170 acoustic songs that listeners may recognize from national commercials and campaigns for major brands like Target, Walmart, Hobby Lobby and Lifeway. He has played at historical venues like the Grand Ole Opry, Ryman Auditorium and Blue Bird Cafe with bands such as Far from Home, The Henningsens, Junior Brown and the world renowned electric guitarist, Grammy Award-winning Phil Keaggy. Additionally, he’s performed alongside CCM favorites Point of Grace, 33 Miles, Aaron Shust, Wes King and more.

After great contemplation, Firey decided to retire from life on the road and relocate his wife and two young daughters to the Santa Ynez Valley. It was here, where he began a new journey in life and music.  Shortly after, the Taste of the Valley was born. The blend of passionate and spirited acoustic ballads, this new project demonstrates the heart and admiration to a place that Firey describes as simple, rich and deep – one of the few places like it on earth.

“My hope is this record will  make people want to come visit this magical place themselves,” shares Firey. “And if they can’t visit, I hope my music gives the feeling of what it’s like to be surrounded by the beauty and artistic culture that thrives in this small-town hidden wonder on the California Central Coast. I want to be the soundtrack to their day, so that people can listen to this album, be transported to the Valley and it brings them joy.”

Track Listing:

  1. San Marcos Pass
  2. A Warm Day in Winter
  3. Taste of the Valley
  4. The Taverns
  5. Cachuma Sunrise
  6. Lover’s Loop
  7. Roots & Wings
  8. Fig
  9. Santa Rosa Road






Sign up today to start receiving our free weekly email! All of the week’s top stories in one place in the TCB Newsletter.


Sign up today to start receiving our free weekly email! All of the week’s top stories in one place in the TCB Newsletter.