46th Annual GMA Dove Awards: Winners List

Tonight, the 46th Annual GMA Dove Awards were handed out in 41 categories, as well as 4 special awards. Co-hosted by Erica Campbell and Sadie Robertson, the night drew a record attendance at the Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University. The entire show will broadcast exclusively on Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday, October 18th at 9:00PM CST. 

List of televised award winners:

  • DOVEpresser2Song of the Year: “How Can It Be,” - Lauren Daigle (writers) Jason Ingram, Jeff Johnson, Paul Mabury
  • Artist of the Year: Lecrae
  • New Artist of the Year: Lauren Daigle
  • Southern Gospel Album of Year: Pray Now - Karen Peck & New River (producer) Wayne Haun
  • Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year: “I Luh God (ft. Big Shizz)” – Erica Campbell (writers) Warren Campbell, Erica Campbell, Lashawn Daniels
  • Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year: Anomaly – Lecrae (producers) Dirty Rice, Joseph Prielozny, Street Symphony, S1, J. Rhodes, 808XEIite, GAWVI, Nate Robinson, Mashell, Derke Minor, Vohnbeatz, Lasanna, “Ace” Harris, Alex Medina, Jaquebefatz
  • Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year: RUN WILD, LIVE FREE, LOVE STRONG – for King & Country (producers) Seth Mosley, Tedd T. Matte Hales, Ben Glover
  • Gospel Artist of the Year: Tasha Cobbs
  • Praise and Worship Song of the Year: “Because He Lives (Amen)” – Matt Maher (writers) Chris Tomlin, Daniel Carson, Ed Cash, Gloria Gaither, Jason Ingram, Matt Maher, Bill Gaither
  • Inspirational Film: Mom’s Night Out (directors) The Erwin Brothers (producers) Affirm Films, FourBoys Ent. Provident Films, Pure Flix Ent. And TriStar Pictures

Special recognition honors also presented this evening include:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Bobby Jones Gospel and John Rivers 20 The Countdown Magazine
  • The Outstanding Mainstream Contribution to Gospel Music Award – Mark Burnett and Roma Downey
  • Radio Impact Award - CCM - The Joy FM, Southern Gospel – enlighten, Gospel – WPRS – FM 104.1

Full winners list:

  • Songwriter Of The Year - Artist: Matt Maher
  • Songwriter Of The Year - Non Artist: Seth Mosley
  • Contemporary Christian Artists Of The Year: for KING & COUNTRY
  • Southern Gospel Song Of The Year: "Hidden Heroes" by Talley Trio 
  • Worship Song Of The Year: "Because He Lives (Amen)" by Matt Maher
  • Pop/Contemporary Song Of The Year: "How Can It Be" by Lauren Daigle
  • Rock Album Of The Year: "Of Beauty & Range" by RED
  • Rock/Contemporary Album Of The Year: "Anchor" by Colton Dixon
  • Worship Album Of The Year: "No Other Name" by Hilllsong Worship
  • Southern Gospel Artist Of The Year: Gaither Vocal Band
  • Producer Of The Year: Seth Mosley
  • Rap/Hip-Hop Song Of The Year: “All I Need Is You” by Lecrae
  • Rock Song Of The Year: “Good To Be Alive” by Skillet
  • Rock/Contemporary Song Of The Year: “Brother” by NEEDTOBREATHE
  • Inspirational Song Of The Year: “O Love Of God” by Laura Story
  • Bluegrass Song Of The Year: “God Is There” by Lizzy Long & Rhonda Vincent
  • Country Song Of The Year: “Sweet Jesus (ft. Merle Haggard)” by The Oak Ridge Boys 
  • Traditional Gospel Song Of The Year: “How Awesome Is Our God (ft. Yolanda Adams)” by Israel & New Breed
  • Inspirational Album Of The Year: "Above It All" by Phillips, Craig & Dean
  • Bluegrass/Country Album Of The Year: "Angels Among Us" by Alabama
  • Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album Of The Year: "Forever Yours" by Smokie Norful
  • Traditional Gospel Album Of The Year: "Worth Fighting For" by Brian Courtney Wilson
  • Children's Music Album Of The Year: "Kids" by The Hoppers
  • Spanish Language Album Of The Year: "Como En El Cielo" by Miel San Marcos
  • Christmas Album Of The Year: "The Spirit of Christmas" by Michael W. Smith & Friends
  • Musical Of The Year: "We’re Glad You Came (A Musical Celebration of the Savior’s Birth)" by Jeff Bumgardner and Joel Lindsey
  • Youth/Children's Musical Of The Year: "Back To The Cross (A Kids Musical Adventure Through Time)" by Christy Semsen
  • Choral Collection Of The Year: "Splendor Of Heaven" by Geron Davis and Tyler Brinson
  • Recorded Music Packaging: "Neon Steeple" by Crowder
  • Short Form Video Of The Year: "You Can’t Stop Me" by Andy Mineo
  • Long Form Video Of The Year: "No Other Name (Live at Hillsong Conference)" by Hillsong Worship

We as a body, we as Christians have a legacy to lead about love. We want to allow it to permeate and leave God’s legacy behind.” – Lauren Daigle

“I think receiving an award is sometimes a challenge for us. Thank you so much for believing in us. We’re better together!” – King and Country

“The great thing about a song is God takes your life and I’m so grateful for the church. We live in a tie where music is in a weird place. I just want to thank Jesus for the church.” – Matt Maher

“The theme better together, I’m so excited about this. Revival is going on. I see it in the theater. I’m so excited to stand shoulder to shoulder with my brothers, to see massive change. I’m excited to be up next with Woodlawn, a story about Revival. A story in 1974 to see what God did in the Jesus movement. God did it once with the Jesus movement. We need it again.” – Andrew Erwin

“What we have here is three pastors, one microphone, and an enthusiastic audience. You know what that can mean…..” – Phillips Craig and Dean

“My prayer is that I don’t want anything to upstage me. I want my flesh to die and him to rise so he always shines!” – Erica Campbell

“My prayer is that God keeps me at his feet. He keeps me humble at his feet.” - Tasha Cobbs

Joseph Habedank and Kirk Whalum were the co-hosts of the preshow ceremony where over 30 of the awards were received and outstanding performances were made by many of today's top artists. Both the preshow and the Dove Cares Red Carpet were streamed on www.hearitfirst.com/live.

Tonight’s 41 award presentations represent a wide-array of musical styles ranging from Gospel, Contemporary Christian, Rap/Hip-Hop, Urban, Country, Worship, Contemporary and Traditional Gospel, Rock, Pop, Bluegrass, Spanish Language and Inspirational categories.

Special thanks to this year’s partners: TBN, Lipscomb University, Salem Broadcasting, CCM Magazine, Country Outfitters, Billboard Magazine, LifeWay, CCLI, Sound Exchange, Compassion International, Birdsong Creative, De Lux Productions, The OverFlow, Mad Marketplace, National Museum of African American Music, YesLord Radio!, 760AM, Simple Grace and BMI.

The memberships of the GMA (Gospel Music Association) determine the winners in each category. Kraft CPA is the official accounting firm for the GMA.

Other Posts We Recommend: